Core Competencies of a CHW

Dannie Ritchie of Community Health Innovations RI (left) and Carol Hall-Walker of RI Department of Health (right) flank beaming Varina James, recent graduate of the Health Equity Zone (HEZ) Community Health Worker training (Genesis Center, December 2017).

RI Certification requires CHWs demonstrate competency in nine domains:

1. Engagement Methods and Strategies
2. Individual and Community Assessment
3. Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Responsiveness
4. Promote Health and Well-Being
5. Care Coordination and System Navigation
6. Public Health Concepts and Approaches
7. Advocacy and Community Capacity Building
8. Safety and Self-Care
9. Ethical Responsibilities and Professional Skills

CHWARI offers a CHW Core Competency Training, for FREE, multiple times each year.  Read about it! 

Learn more about CHW certification...